Politics:  What you need to know about advance voting.

Politics: What you need to know about advance voting.

Early voting starts April 28 at Floyd County Administration Building.


Image result for floyd county elections supervisor willie greenAdvance voting begins the elections office and at Garden Lakes Baptist Church, 2200 Redmond Circle NW, at 8 a.m. Monday, April 30, and continues weekdays through Friday, May 18. The Rome Civic Center also opens to advance voters on Monday, May 14, through Friday, May 18, from 8 a.m.-5 p.m.

The precincts will be open Tuesday, May 22, from 7 a.m. until 7 p.m.

Green was a guest on Friday’s Hometown Headlines Radio Edition on WRGA 98.7 FM. He expects a decent turnout — 30 to 40 percent — on a ballot that has only one real local race — the superior court judgeship — but much more atop the ballot (governor, lieutenant governor, etc.)

For more on the election, contact Green’s office at 706-291-5167.


  • There’s only one key local race on the May 22 ballot — electing a new superior court judge to replace the retiring Tami Colston. The candidates in the nonpartisan race at Emily J. Matson and Kay Ann Wetherington.
  • In Bartow County, the big primary race is State House District 15: Matthew Gambill, Republican, vs. Allan Levene, Republican. Four-term incumbent Paul Battles is not seeking re-election.
  • Sample ballots are below for Democrats and Republicans, taken from the Secretary of State’s office.

Our focus:

Hometown Headlines Radio Edition: We’ll have both judicial candidates — Emily Matson and Kay Ann Wetherington — in studio on Thursday, April 26, from 7:40 until 8:30 a.m. for a joint interview. You’ll hear it at WRGA 98.7 FM and online at wrga.streamon.fm.


Voter registration deadline for the May 22 primary is Tuesday, April 24. This is for new voters, lapsed voters or those who have moved since the latest elections. Register at the county elections office now through 5 p.m. April 24.

Sample ballots appear below or go to the Secretary of State’s My Voter Page for more.






Post One: Rhonda Wallace, incumbent, Republican.  Stephanie Wright, Democrat.


District 13: Katie Dempsey, incumbent, Republican, vs. John Burnette II, Democrat.


District 52: Chuck Hufstetler, incumbent, Republican. Evan Ross, Democrat.

District 14: Bruce Thompson, incumbent, Republican. Rachel Kinsey, Democrat.

U.S. Congress

House District 11: Barry Loudermilk, incumbent, Republican, and Democrat Flynn Broady Jr. of Marietta.

House District 14: Tom Graves, incumbent, Republican. Stephen Lamar Foster, a Democrat from Dalton.

Share Button

Sorry, comments are closed for this post.