Education: Meet first-round winners of Floyd Schools’ literacy challenge. Honors for Rome High’s Junior ROTC cadets.  Big wins for Darlington students at tech competition.

Education: Meet first-round winners of Floyd Schools’ literacy challenge. Honors for Rome High’s Junior ROTC cadets. Big wins for Darlington students at tech competition.

From Floyd County Schools: The following schools are our grade level growth winners in the first round of the system-wide literacy challenge. The banners were designed by two Coosa High School seniors, Abril Fonseca-Cruz and Josie Jenkins, in Mrs. Leah Lynn’s graphic design class at the College and Career Academy.
The students representing the Wildcats in this photo are two students from each grade that lead their grade level in words read so far this year.  Back row left to right: JES Assistant Principal April Cummings, Will Hosford, Joe Rutledge, Orgil Adams, Sara Grace Abernathy, Brynn Proctor, Ian Freeman, and JES Principal Tanya Welchel. Front row left to right: Elijah Ely, Sophie Cantrell, Quinn Molyneux, James Coleman, Anderson Blythe, Mallory Meers.


Middle Schools (6-8)- Model Middle

The students representing the Blue Devils have the highest SRI growth in the school. Back row left to right: MMS Assistant Principal Hope Stevens, Loagun Williams, Hunter Cleveland, John Henderson, Dray Ely, Gavin House, MMS Principal Steve Turrentine Front row left to right: Byron Clarke, Zachary Tatum, Ethan Cole, Douglas Tarter, Jayde Brewer, Ella Brewer, Madilyn Newberry and Riley Davis


High Schools (9-12)- Pepperell High

Representing the Dragons are PHS Principal, Jamey Alcorn, PHS ELA Department Chair, Haley Gee, Mrs. Gee’s second period class, and PHS Assistant Principal Dale Willerson.

Today at 9 a.m. Floyd County Schools spelling bee. We’ll have results later today.

Image may contain: 3 people, basketball court
Part of the team’s mass inspection.

Rome High School’s Junior ROTC cadets earned the highest possible grade of “Exceeds Standards” during its recent unit evaluation. “It has been four years since our last inspection,” said Senior Aerospace Science Instructor, retired Col. Seaborn Whatley. “We are very excited that cadets were able to rally and make this two in a row.”  The unit was also rated exceeds standards in 2014. The inspection examines all aspect of how the unit fulfills its mission to develop citizens of character dedicated to serving their nation and community.

The following Darlington School students were named winners at the Northwest Georgia Tech Competition on Friday, Jan. 26, and will advance to the Georgia Student Technology Competition at Middle Georgia State University in Macon, Ga., on March 10.

3D Modeling:   

Rodgers Wang (9-10)

Zenith Han and Jay Jay Ugbe (11-12)


Mary Elizabeth Prusakowski (7-8)

Audio Production:

Xiya Burton and Mary Blair Fuller (5-6)

Davis Graham (9-10)

Neal Yin and David Wu (11-12)

Device Modification:

Jack McClain (11-12)

Digital Photo Production:

Allison King and Hattie James Lester (7-8)

Jonathan Murphy and Michael Ugbe (9-10)

Digital Game Design:

Parker Scott (7-8)

Clayton Tillery (11-12)

Internet Applications:

David Cao and Sirius Liu (11-12)

Mobile App Design:

Jemarc Walters (11-12)

Multimedia Applications:

Ashley Hankinson (11-12)

Productivity Design:

Emi Grace Wood (5-6)

Anaya Desai (7-8)

Programming Challenge:

David Cao and Sharon Sun (9-10)

Jack Eady and Zenith Han (11-12)

Project Programming:

Jayden Lance (7-8)

Jack Eady (11-12)


Noah Kinney (7-8)

Ingrid Wu and Elliot Kinney (11-12)

Video Production:

Morgan Ivester (11-12)

The Georgia Educational Student Technology Competition  is an annual student technology competition produced by the Georgia Educational Technology Consortium. The GASTC is the highest level of student technology competition in Georgia with over 750 projects, representing the work of 1000+ students, judged at the competition each year.

Share Button

Sorry, comments are closed for this post.