15 Floyd County Schools’ students move forward in Governor’s Honors selection process; Berry to host event again this summer.

15 Floyd County Schools’ students move forward in Governor’s Honors selection process; Berry to host event again this summer.

Media release: Fifteen of Floyd County Schools’ top students were picked to advance in the Governor’s Honors Program selection process and will interview at the state level for an opportunity to participate in the program. The program is a four-week summer instructional program designed to provide intellectually gifted and artistically talented high school students with challenging and enriching educational opportunities not usually available during the regular school year.  The 15 sophomores and juniors selected will represent Floyd in the  state interviews to be held in January and February.

 The Governor’s Honors Program will take place on the campus of Berry College for the second time this summer. Rising juniors and seniors in Georgia public and private high schools are eligible to be nominated by their teachers to participate in the program.  The program is fully funded by the Georgia General Assembly, so there is no charge for students to attend.  For four weeks, students spend the morning in their major area of nomination, exploring topics not usually found in the regular high school classroom.  During the afternoons, students choose one of the other areas in which to study. The curriculum in all the areas is challenging and engaging.  Evenings are filled with seminars, activities, concerts, and performances.

Each applicant must go through a very extensive selection process to be invited to participate in the program.  Transcripts of grades and records, nomination forms, endorsements and other pertinent information are submitted to substantiate the nominations and the students must interview with a local screening committee.

Congratulations to the following 15 Floyd finalists and four alternates for GHP. They will represent FCS in the next level of competition.

Armuchee High School

Caroline Abney, sophomore, Science

Eli Brock, junior, Math

Kayla Hutcherson, junior, Music, Clarinet

 Coosa High School

Lily Chesnut, junior, Visual Arts

John Googe, sophomore, Science

Olivia Parker, junior, Theatre 

Model High School

Ty Brock, junior, Social Studies

Evalyn Edwards, sophomore, Communicative Arts

Kyle Henderson, sophomore, Spanish

Taylor Nelson, junior, Music, Chorus

Sarah VanVorst, sophomore, Communicative Arts

Micah Veillon, sophomore, Math 

Pepperell High School

Taylor Carles, junior, Science

Dakota Davis, junior, Agriculture

Rachel Ferguson, sophomore, Agriculture


Shiloh St. Clair, sophomore, AHS, Social Studies

Dylan Diprima, sophomore, MHS, Technology

Janae Lee, junior, MHS, Science

Ember Milstead, junior, MHS, Communicative Arts

Major instructional areas are communicative arts (English), foreign languages, mathematics, science, social studies, visual art, theatre, music, dance, design, technology, and executive management. Instruction is also provided in four support areas — computers, counseling, library/media, and physical fitness.

 Students also select a minor area outside their major area of study. These include all the major instructional areas as well as additional offerings which reflect the interests and abilities of the instructional staff.  All performing groups are open to the entire student body and include orchestra, band, chorus, and theatre.


Share Button

Sorry, comments are closed for this post.